by: Pete Kornafel

For Immediate Use

May 14, 2015

GAAS PR 03-15


Media contact: Margaret Beck, AASA



Seven Students Receive Scholarships Through

Memorial, Donation Awards


RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK, N.C. – Thanks to generous memorial and donor awards to the Global Automotive Aftermarket Symposium (GAAS) and University of the Aftermarket scholarship funds, seven students received scholarships to pursue education and future careers in the automotive aftermarket.


“Once again this year, our scholarship applicants were outstanding and showed enthusiasm and passion for the aftermarket career path they have chosen,” said Pete Kornafel, chairman of the GAAS Scholarship Committee. “Thanks to the generous support of these individuals and groups, we are able to assist many more applicants as they pursue their education.”


ASE and the Michael Busch Memorial Fund awarded two $1,000 scholarships:

·         Erica Rutter of Wonewoc, Wis., to attend Madison Area Technical College

·         Leslie Chapman of Idaho Falls, Idaho, to attend Idaho State University


Mort Schwartz, David Caracci and the Marilyn Schwartz Memorial Fund, part of the University of the Aftermarket Foundation, awarded four $1,000 University of the Aftermarket scholarships:

·         Adam Bancroft of East Falmouth, Mass., to attend the University of Northwestern Ohio

·         Mohamed Diaby of Galloway, Ohio, to attend the University of Northwestern Ohio

·         Zachary Hill of Danville, Ind., to attend the University of Northwestern Ohio

·         Ethan Theewis of Lima, Ohio, to attend the University of Northwestern Ohio


The Udell Family Foundation awarded one $1,000 scholarship to a veteran of the U.S. armed forces: Dailyn Finnicum of Havre, Mont., to attend Montana State University.


In addition to these organizations, GAAS collaborates with these state associations and other automotive groups:

·         Alliance of Automotive Service Providers of Minnesota (AASP-MN)

·         Association of Diesel Specialists (ADS)

·         Automotive Aftermarket Association Southeast (AAAS)

·         Automotive Parts & Services Association (APSA)

·         Automotive Parts and Service Association of Illinois (APSA of IL)

·         California/Nevada/Arizona Automotive Wholesalers' Association (CAWA)

·         Kentucky / Indiana Automotive Wholesalers Association (KIAWA)

·         Michigan Automotive Parts Association (MAPA)

·         Midwest Automotive Parts and Service Association (MAPSA)

·         Mobile Air Conditioning Society (MACS)

·         New York State Automotive Aftermarket Association (NYSAAA)

·         Wisconsin Automotive Part Association (WAPA)


The following foundations and organizations also collaborate with GAAS to award scholarships:

·         Auto Care Association

·         Automotive Communication Council

·         Breslow Foundation

·         Dayco

·         Gates Corporation

·         Larry McCurdy Memorial Fund

·         Leadership Development Network

·         Mitchell 1

·         Multi Parts Supply

·         Polk

·         Standard Motor Products

·         Stant Corporation

·         University of the Aftermarket Foundation

·         Women’s Car Care Council (WB)


Additional scholarship funding comes from industry contributions provided by individuals, companies and foundations. Contributions can be made to the GAAS Scholarship Fund, c/o Susan Medick at the Auto Care Association, at 301-654-6664, or