by: Pete Kornafel

For Immediate Use

June 4, 2015

GAAS PR 10-15


Media contact: Margaret Beck, AASA



Automotive Aftermarket Association of the Carolinas and Tennessee

Announces 2015-2016 Scholarship Winners


RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK, N.C. – The Automotive Aftermarket Association of the Carolinas and Tennessee (AAACT) is pleased to announce the recipients of its scholarship for the 2015-2016 academic year. The recipients are:


·         $500 - Darren Brittain of Rock Hill, SC

·         $500 - Andrew Mercer of Jacksonville, NC

·         $500 - John Mercer of Jacksonville, NC

·         $1,000 - Ashley Hemingway of Fayetteville, NC


“AAACT is pleased to assist Darren, Andrew, John and Ashley as they pursue their education,” said Randy Lisk, executive vice president of AAACT. “We are pleased to be a part of this effort to invest in our country’s future.”


“The students selected for AAACT scholarships exemplify the outstanding applications received this year through the online application process,” said Pete Kornafel, chairman of the GAAS Scholarship Committee. “Through the efforts of AAACT and other regional associations, along with the supporters of the GAAS scholarship fund, we are able to assist many students pursuing their dreams of higher education.”


In addition to AAACT, GAAS collaborates with these state associations and other automotive groups:

·         Alliance of Automotive Service Providers of Minnesota (AASP-MN)

·         Association of Diesel Specialists (ADS)

·         Automotive Aftermarket Association Southeast (AAAS)

·         Automotive Parts & Services Association (APSA)

·         Automotive Parts and Service Association of Illinois (APSA of IL)

·         California/Nevada/Arizona Automotive Wholesalers' Association (CAWA)

·         Kentucky / Indiana Automotive Wholesalers Association (KIAWA)

·         Michigan Automotive Parts Association (MAPA)

·         Midwest Automotive Parts and Service Association (MAPSA)

·         Mobile Air Conditioning Society (MACS)

·         New York State Automotive Aftermarket Association (NYSAAA)

·         Wisconsin Automotive Part Association (WAPA)


The following foundations and organizations also collaborate with GAAS to award scholarships:

·         Auto Care Association

·         Automotive Aftermarket Suppliers Association/Overseas Automotive Council

·         Automotive Communication Council

·         Breslow Foundation

·         Dayco

·         Gates Corporation

·         Larry McCurdy Memorial Fund

·         Leadership Development Network

·         Michael Busch Memorial Fund

·         Mitchell 1

·         Multi Parts Supply

·         National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE)

·         Polk

·         Standard Motor Products

·         Stant Corporation

·         University of the Aftermarket Foundation

·         Women’s Car Care Council (WB)


Additional scholarship funding comes from industry contributions provided by individuals, companies and foundations. Contributions can be made to the GAAS Scholarship Fund, c/o Susan Medick at the Auto Care Association, at 301-654-6664, or