by: Pete Kornafel

For Immediate Release

July 13, 2015

GAAS PR 14-15


Media contact:

Margaret Beck, AASA




University of the Aftermarket Foundation Announces
2015 Art Fisher Memorial Scholarship Recipients


RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK, N.C. – The University of the Aftermarket Foundation today announced the recipients of the Art Fisher Memorial Scholarships.


Three students received $2,500 awards:


·         Salman Mirza of Holly, Mich.: attending Southern Illinois University in automotive technology, College of Applied Sciences and Arts

·         Charles Schifone of Avon, Mass.: attending Benjamin Franklin Institute of Technology in the automotive technology program

·         Perla Veloz of Bakersfield, Calif.: attending Ferris State University in the automotive engineering technology program


Ten students were awarded $1,000 scholarships:


·         Casey Alvarez of Purcellville, Va.: attending Wake Technical College in the diesel heavy equipment and transport technology program

·         Jordon Esselman of Chili, Wis.: attending Mid-State Technical College in the automotive technician program

·         Stephanie Garcia of Schuyler, Neb.: attending Southeast Community College in the GM Automotive Service Educational Program (ASEP)

·         Cynthia Jones of Tyler, Texas: attending Tyler Junior College in the automotive technology program

·         Conner Kavanagh of Richwood, Ohio: attending the University of Northwestern Ohio in the automotive, diesel technology, agricultural/heavy machinery technology program

·         Richard Saeparn of Oakland, Calif.: attending the College of Alameda in the automotive program

·         Allison Sattgast of Portland, Ore.: attending Mt. Hood Community College in the automotive technology program

·         Kianna Silva of Santa Barbara, Calif.: attending Santa Barbara City College in the automotive service and technology program

·         Ryan Watz of Shelton, Wash.: attending Universal Technical Institute in the diesel technology program

·         Jonathan Weronski of East Concord, N.Y.: attending Alfred State College in the heavy equipment, truck and diesel technician program


Additional scholarship funding comes from industry contributions provided by individuals, companies and foundations. Contributions can be made to the Scholarship Fund, c/o Susan Medick at the Auto Care Association, at or



About the Art Fisher Memorial Scholarship


The Art Fisher Memorial Scholarship honors the late industry leader, who served as CEO of Fisher Auto Parts and was the founder of Federated Auto Parts Distributors. Fisher began his career as a teacher and was a mentor and teacher to his employees and many others in the aftermarket. These scholarships pay tribute to his numerous contributions to the industry as well as his life-long love for education, and benefits students pursuing automotive aftermarket careers.


About the University of the Aftermarket Foundation


Since 1986, the University of the Aftermarket Foundation (formerly the AWDA University Foundation) has provided funding for aftermarket educational programs and research. Through its grant program, the Foundation and its donors ensure that education has a positive, stabilizing influence on the future of the aftermarket. The Foundation reached a milestone during the fourth quarter of 2014 by surpassing $7 million in donations since its inception in 1986. For more information about the University of the Aftermarket Foundation, call Barbara Cunningham at 816-584-0511.