by: Pete Kornafel

For Immediate Use

August 28, 2015

GAAS PR 19-15


Media contact: Margaret Beck, AASA



Midwest Automotive Parts & Service Association

Announces 2015-2016 Scholarship Winners


RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK, N.C. – The Midwest Automotive Parts & Service Association (MAPSA) is pleased to announce the recipients of its scholarship for the 2015-2016 academic year. The recipients are:


·         Tyler Washington of New Albany, Ohio: attending Capital University and receiving a $1000 award;  

·         Austin Evans of Westerville, Ohio: attending Arizona State University and receiving a $500 award;

·         Natalie Menke of Stow, Ohio: planning to attend either Hiram College or Mount Union College and receiving a $500 award

·         Randall Miller of Gay, W.Va.: attending Marshall University and receiving a $250 award.


Applicants for MAPSA 2015-2016 scholarships were taken through the Global Automotive Aftermarket Symposium (GAAS) Scholarship website,


“MAPSA is pleased to assist Tyler, Austin, Natalie and Randall as they pursue their education,” said Gary Murdock, MAPSA president. “The automotive scholarship website is a valuable asset to our association in providing these scholarships to such worthy recipients as these.”


“The students selected for MAPSA scholarships exemplify the outstanding applications received this year through the online application process,” said Pete Kornafel, chairman of the GAAS Scholarship Committee. “Through the efforts of MAPSA and other regional associations, along with the supporters of the automotive scholarship fund, we are able to assist many students pursuing their dreams of higher education.”


In addition to the MAPSA, GAAS collaborates with these state associations and other automotive groups:


·         Alliance of Automotive Service Providers of Minnesota (AASP-MN)

·         Association of Diesel Specialists (ADS)

·         Automotive Aftermarket Association of the Carolinas and Tennessee (AAACT)

·         Automotive Aftermarket Association Southeast (AAAS)

·         Automotive Parts and Service Association

·         California/Nevada/Arizona Automotive Wholesalers' Association (CAWA)

·         Kentucky / Indiana Automotive Wholesalers Association (KIAWA)

·         Michigan Automotive Parts Association (MAPA)

·         NACAT Education Foundation

·         Mobile Air Conditioning Society (MACS)

·         New York State Automotive Aftermarket Association (NYSAAA)

·         Wisconsin Automotive Part Association (WAPA)


The following foundations and organizations also collaborate with GAAS to award scholarships:


·         Auto Care Association

·         Automotive Aftermarket Suppliers Association/Overseas Automotive Council

·         Automotive Communication Council

·         Breslow Foundation

·         Dayco

·         Gates Corporation

·         IHS, Driven by Polk

·         Larry McCurdy Memorial Fund

·         Leadership Development Network

·         Michael Busch Memorial Fund

·         Mitchell 1

·         Multi Parts Supply

·         National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE)

·         Standard Motor Products

·         Stant Corporation

·         University of the Aftermarket Foundation

·         Women’s Car Care Council (WB)


Additional scholarship funding comes from industry contributions provided by individuals, companies and foundations. Contributions can be made to the Scholarship Fund, c/o Susan Medick at the Auto Care Association, at 301-654-6664, or