by: Pete Kornafel

CAWA, representing the automotive parts industry, has announced the recipients of its 2016 scholarship awards. CAWA provided $12,250 in scholarships this year to 12 individuals.

“Once again, CAWA is proud to assist these young people in pursuing their education and careers in the auto care industry,” said Rodney Pierini, president and CEO, in announcing the awards.

Recipients of the scholarships include:

  • Miranda Meyers, the highest awardee – Mort Schwartz Award, College of Alameda
  • Perla Veloz, Ferris State University
  • Ngoc Hua, Rio Hondo College
  • Angel Segura, Universal Technical Institute
  • Madison Sira, Cypress College
  • George Williamson, De Anza College
  • Robert Edington, Universal Technical Institute
  • Santiago Benitez, Universal Technical Institute
  • Skyler Gallagher, Universal Technical Institute
  • Wyatt Hatcher, Universal Technical Institute
  • Damien Otten, Universal Technical Institute
  • Xavier Perez, Truckee Meadows Community College
The primary scholarship fundraising effort by CAWA is its annual dinner meeting held the Sunday night before the AAPEX and SEMA shows. This year it will be held on Oct. 30 at Caesars in Las Vegas. Scholarship funding also comes, in part, from a grant provided by the University of the Aftermarket Foundation. To contribute to the association’s scholarship fund or to donate prizes for the annual fundraising auction, contact Rodney Pierini at 800-332-2292, ext. 1 or