by: Pete Kornafel

For Immediate Use
June 17, 2016
Automotive Scholarship Central PR 04-16
Media contact: Margaret Beck, AASA 919-406-8828

Ten Students Receive Scholarships Supported by Gates

RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK, N.C. – Thanks to the generous support of Gates Corporation, ten students pursuing automotive aftermarket careers will receive scholarships for the 2016-2017 academic year.

“Gates is proud to invest in our industry’s future and support these worthy recipients of the automotive scholarships this year,” said Jack Ramsey, Gates. “It is an honor and privilege for us to support Automotive Scholarship Central again this year.” These students will receive a $1,000 scholarship to advance their education, either at two-year vocational / technical colleges or four-year colleges and universities.
This year’s recipients of Gates-sponsored scholarships are:
• Sabrina Alatto of Shelby Township, Mich.
• Trevor Beckman of Harrison, Ohio.
• Brandon Byrd of Jane Lew, W. Va.
• Charles Becker III of Lima, Ohio.
• John Coddington of Laurel, Del.
• Paul Danenberg of Nampa, Idaho.
• Austin Hiebert of Newton, Kan.
• Vladimir Logan of Thorntown, Ind.
• Josiah Ragsdale of Hampton, Iowa.
• Tara Rodgers of Belleville, Ill.

Automotive Scholarship Central collaborates with these state associations and other automotive groups to award scholarships:
• Association of Diesel Specialists (ADS)
• Automotive Aftermarket Association of the Carolinas and Tennessee (AAACT)
• Automotive Aftermarket Association Southeast (AAAS)
• Automotive Parts and Service Association of Illinois (APSA of Illinois)
• Alliance of Automotive Service Providers of Minnesota Inc.
• Automotive Service Council Education Fund (California) (ASCEF)
• California/Nevada/Arizona Automotive Wholesalers' Association (CAWA)
• Car Care Council Women’s Board (WB)
• Global Automotive Aftermarket Symposium Inc. (GAAS)
• Kentucky/Indiana Automotive Wholesalers Association
• Michigan Automotive Parts Association (MAPA)
• Midwest Automotive Parts and Service Association (MAPSA)
• North American Council of Automotive Teachers (NACAT) Education Foundation
• New York State Automotive Aftermarket Association (NYSAAA)
• Wisconsin Automotive Part Association (WAPA)
• Automotive Service Excellence (ASE)
• Auto Care Association Telematics Challenge
• Automotive Aftermarket Suppliers Association/Overseas Automotive Council
• Bosch
• Breslow Foundation
• Dayco
• Art Fisher Memorial Fund
• Larry McCurdy Memorial Fund
• Marilyn Schwartz Memorial Fund
• Michael Busch Memorial Fund
• Mitchell 1
• Multi Parts
• National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE)
• George Segal Memorial
• Standard Motor Products
• Stant Corporation
• University of the Aftermarket Foundation Scholarship Fund (UAF)
• Women’s Board of the Auto Care Association
Additional scholarship funding comes from industry contributions provided by individuals, companies and foundations. Contributions can be made to the UAF Scholarship Fund, University of the Aftermarket Foundation, c/o Julie Brehm, Auto Care Association, 7101 Wisconsin Ave., Suite 1300, Bethesda, MD 20814, 240-333-1046. Please designate any contribution to be restricted for scholarships. UAF is a 501c (3) organization.